Mother’s day tomorrow

Talk about a double-edged sword.

I can’t stand Mother’s Day even though I am a mother myself. Well to me all of these ‘occasions’ are nothing but stuff and nonsense, but that’s another post entirely.

I don’t make much fuss about it for a few reasons, one my youngest just celebrated his 16th birthday yesterday, the oldest was two weeks ago and our anniversary was less than a month ago, not to mention that we always host Easter which was just a month ago and is always some time around all of these others things!

Can someone say occasion overload!?!?! LoL

I haven’t talked to my mother, outside of the obligatory happy this and happy that text in almost two years. We’ve met face to face at funerals, that’s it. Now I need to say happy mother’s day ….. UGH I haven’t bought anything in quite a few years either. I used to because we always buy for the Bear’s mom, so I felt it was right to buy for mine as well.

Every time we would go over to drop it off the visit was awkward to say the least. If my father happened to be about it almost always turned into some sort of sh*t show, about one of my brothers, my mother (my father considers himself the ‘man of the house’ having certain rights and privileges, I consider him a domineering donkey who has yet to grow up, oh well) or some other family member.

I don’t do gossip or any other form of talking about people behind their backs. I figure if I have something to say I say it to your face. If I haven’t, than I haven’t said it, regardless of what anyone is trying to tell you. But that’s just me …. so you can imagine how much I wanted to stay and deal with it.

So yeah, mother’s day ….

I have to pretend to care when we see the Bear’s side, I have to make some sort of excuse when they ask about my mother, and I have to reconcile that with my own children and being their day to celebrate with me too ….

I’m not good at faking but I don’t need them brought down by my lack of interest either. I don’t need to explain to anyone why I don’t celebrate with my side for any occasion. We’ve been married 21 years now, you’d think they would have clued in by now! *chuckle*

The Bear and I are both private people, fiercely independent and self-sufficient. None of that is a bad thing but in times like these it does make me feel like I’m living a double life!

On the bright side, it’s raining out and cloud covered. That always makes the colours pop out so much more intensely. My English redbud looks fantastic, don’t you think?

DSCN1660

We’ve started adding colour to the front drive as well, I think Gramma would be proud!  I’m hoping all the work done last year will pay off, not sure my body could handle another go round. But hey, you only live once right?? LoL

Cheers!

~n

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.